Book Scouts: Erin Hunter Read-Alikes

The theme of this year’s Summer Reading Challenge is “Tails and Tales”, so we’re highlighting books about animals all summer!

If your kids like books by Erin Hunter (author of the Warrior Cats, Seekers, and Survivors series), they’ll love the recommendations in this month’s Book Scouts. In the video and written list below, School Age Program Coordinator Jennifer Johnson shares books that are similar in theme and content to Erin Hunter’s books. These recommendations are intended for kids ages 5-12.

Click the titles to browse and put them on hold for pickup at the Circulation Desk or curbside. Call (423) 434-4458 for more information on any of these books. You can also request a themed Book Bundle and our librarians will pick some books just for you!



Picture Books

Paolo, Emperor of Rome by Mac Barnett
I Am a Cat by Galia Bernstein
Camp Tiger by Susan Choi
The Society of Distinguished Lemmings by Julie Colombet
A Hungry Lion, or A Dwindling Assortment of Animals by Lucy Ruth Cummins
Snakes on a Train by Kathryn Dennis
Little Cheetah’s Shadow by Marianne Dubuc
Otto and Pio by Marianne Dubuc
The Barnabus Project by Terry Fan
The Legend of King Arthur-a-tops by Mo O’Hara
Bear and Wolf by Daniel Salmieri
Not Quite Narwhal by Jessie Sima
The Antlered Ship by Dashka Slater
Snow Pony and the Seven Miniature Ponies by Christian Trimmer

 

Graphic Novels

Sparks! by Ian Boothby
Kodi by Jared Cullum
The Underfoot: The Mighty Deep by Ben Fisher
A Cat Story by Ursula Murray Husted
Garbage Night by Jen Lee

 

Juvenile Fiction

Endling series by Katherine Applegate
Ragweed by Avi
The Wonderling by Mira Bartok
The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint
Swordbird by Nancy Fan
Mouseheart series by Lisa Fiedler
The Last Dogs series by Christopher Holt
Redwall series by Brian Jacques
Books by Kathryn Lasky
Delphine and the Silver Needle by Alyssa Moon
A Wolf Called Wander by Rosanne Parry
Pax by Sara Pennypacker
Spark and the League of Ursus by Robert Repino
Braver: A Wombat’s Tale by Suzanne Selfors
Spirit Animals series
Wings of Fire series by Tui Sutherland

 

Juvenile Nonfiction

Raccoon Rescue by Kama Einhorn
Bird’s Eye View: Keeping Wild Birds in Flight by Ann Eriksson
Fur, Feather, Fin: All of Us Are Kin by Diane Lang
The Seal Garden by Ian McAllister
Beyond Words: What Wolves and Dogs Think and Feel by Carl Safina
Packs: Strength in Numbers by Hannah Salyer
Who Would Win? series by Jerry Pallotta
If Polar Bears Disappeared by Lily Williams


If you need something new to read, let us know and we’ll help find books and authors that are perfect for you. Visit our website or call (423) 434-4450 for book recommendations and to place items on hold. Follow Johnson City Public Library on FacebookInstagram, and YouTube for updates on your Library’s collections and services.

Related Post